Skip to content

Travel shorts: Three days in Roma

April 10, 2010

In the middle of summer, with temperatures soaring to nearly forty degrees, I walked around this beautiful city for ten hours a day before collapsing each night in a magnificent Mediterranean villa converted into a hostel.

Visiting Rome was a lifelong dream come true. From my early interest in Roman mythology to my high school studies of the Renaissance, Italy, and Rome in particular, has always fascinated me. A late evening walk to the lit up Colosseum with an English girl I’d met at the hostel was a highlight of the trip, as was the Sistine Chapel in the Vatican, where I craned my neck upwards to the ceiling for the best part of an hour. The whole experience combined will probably never be topped. The coin I tossed into the Trevi Fountain will hopefully ensure my return to la dolce vita.

A mixed bag of photos:


Looking towards the Colosseum’s arena


Colosseum at night


Rome – a city of domes and pillars


A little out of focus, but I love this picture of Roman life


View of the Pantheon from Piazza della Minerva, with Bernini’s “elephant sculpture” in the foreground


Inside St Peter’s Basilica, Vatican City


“Here lies One Whose Name was writ in Water” – the grave of English Romantic poet John Keats (left), Protestant Cemetery

Bookmark and Share

From → Rome

3 Comments
  1. I’m crazy envious! Some really great pics bud.

  2. HI there, I love your writing. I am coming to South Africa soon for the world cup and would love to know about some of the night spots in Cape Town. I want to experience what you and other South African do in their spare time. Please could you do some pieces on some local night clubs, hangouts, bars and what not. Will be checking back in soon, thanks.

    Regards
    Choko

    • Hi Choko. Thanks for your comment! I intend to launch a new blog section soon, which will deal with night clubs, bars, restaurants, etc. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

